To start with I wish to say that I am NOT any sort of expert or coder, just a guy who enjoys tinkering a bit - and I have discovered how useful and how much fun some of the cheaper Android devices can be.

I have had some really good experiences with several low-end LG devices and a Nexus 7 tablet that a friend gave me.

For me - an older man with old eyes to match - the tiny screened phones are hard to see and the tablet only works if it stays still on the desktop in its cradle because it got pretty beat up by its (former, teenage) user.

So I had been hoping for a bigger screened phone type of thing for my various uses...and:
Recently a chain store had an Alcatel One Touch Pixi Pulsar A460G (TCL) from tracfone on sale for a great price.

It has a nice 4" screen, Android Kitkat (4.4.2) and better specs than my LG L34C - so I got it.

CPU-Z showed it as a dual core 1.3GHz Mediatek MT6582.

Searched extensively for rooting help using variations of "Alcatel One Touch Pixi Pulsar A460G" and the closest info I found was at the forum at xda-developers.com - though nothing from there worked anyhow.

It DID actually seem to root with Kingo Root - but only temporarily and its Superuser didn't work very well at all.

Eventually I tried every method I could find anywhere - a truly extensive number of them - and nothing worked.

I really wanted to root the phone and wasted a huge amount of time trying to get it done.

It seems most likely from what others have posted that this phone has its bootloader locked by tracfone, and that maybe that is what stops it from getting rooted - but I really just do not know enough to be sure.

I literally wasted days trying to get past all the restrictions on this phone.
After all that I totally gave up on it and found a good use for it as a pretty MP3 player & alarm clock.

There are 2 major things which seem apparent to me from this experience=>